This page collects proposal documents and MTA-prepared comparisons for the 2025–26 and 2026–27 negotiations. Proposal documents retain their author and version stamps. Staff comparisons are reading aids; the underlying proposal documents control. Newer proposals appear before earlier proposals.
Nothing on this page is a final agreement.
Posted proposals and MTA summaries do not, by themselves, establish that a binding agreement has been reached. Any tentative agreement and required ratification or approvals will be identified separately. A proposed MOU is not an executed agreement merely because it is drafted in MOU form.
NEW: Factfinding explained. Mediation ended without a deal and MTA’s contract dispute has been released to factfinding. Watch the two-minute video →
NEW: Side by Side: MTA and District Proposals
This comparison contains 76 entries covering MTA’s July 31, 2026 proposals, including its Two-Year Deal, and the District’s October 23, 2026 packet. Entries identify different proposals, matching terms, and agreements. MTA and the District are in agreement on the 2026 health and welfare benefit year, the current counselor work year, the para training and lead stipend terms, and three-week class-size balancing. These are MTA reading aids, not an official count of unresolved bargaining issues or signed tentative agreements.
Revised November 2, 2026: class-size balancing marked agreed. October 30, 2026: status labels and several entries revised, aggregate counts removed, and the JSEC entry corrected.
Key highlights
Selected by MTA from the dated proposals: MTA, July 31, 2026; District, October 23, 2026. Tap “details” for the full terms on both sides.
| Issue | MTA · July 31 | District · Oct. 23 |
|---|---|---|
| Pay and health | ||
| Raise, 2026–27 (ongoing) details ↓ | 4.5% | 3.0% |
| District health contribution, 2026 (monthly: EO / Agreed — 2026 benefit year details ↓ | $1,121 / $1,261 / $1,401 | $1,121 / $1,289.17 / $1,457.33* |
| MTA and the District are in agreement on the 2026 health and welfare benefit year. The dated proposal columns show the terms as written in those versions; their differences do not reflect a continuing disagreement for 2026. | ||
| District health contribution, 2027 details ↓ | Ongoing floating cap that rises according to the Lowest Cost Plan (LCP), subject to the negotiated reference-growth limit, contribution floors, and automatic reopener. EO 100%, E+1 150%, and Family 200% of the LCP Reference Amount. | Fixed: $1,131 / $1,696.50 / $2,262 a month* |
| Automatic health reopener details ↓ | Yes, if actual LCP exceeds the reference | No automatic reopener stated |
| Leave | ||
| Proof of illness “may be required” if school-year absences exceed details ↓ | 20 days | 16 days |
| Wellness Day details ↓ | One paid day per school year | Status quo — no additional paid Wellness Day proposed. |
| Class size (Article VI) | ||
| Exceeding the 24-student cap in K–3 / details ↓ | District may exceed 24 by no more than one student per classroom, only in the listed circumstances | District may exceed 24 in the listed circumstances; no one-student-per-classroom ceiling stated |
| Circumstances that allow that exception (students enrolling on or after the first instructional day) details ↓ | Three: legally required school-safety transfer; custody order requiring a site change; sibling placement required by law, Board policy, or an approved transfer decision | Six: MTA’s three, plus special education services at the site; attendance-area resident with no other placement options; unhoused/foster move-in |
| Class-size balancing deadline Agreed — three-week balancing details ↓ | End of third week (elementary and fall secondary); beginning of third week (spring secondary) | Keeps three-week balancing; the October 23 packet strikes its earlier four-week request |
| Co-teaching inclusion class maximums (grades 7–8 / details ↓ | 33 / 35 | 35 / 37, equal to the general-class maximums |
| Staffing | ||
| Cuts to Supplemental/ details ↓ | No such clause | District “may reduce” it “at its discretion” if funds are not sufficient; written notice to MTA by December 1 of the school year before |
| High school counselors (District site average) details ↓ | No greater than 450:1 | No greater than 650:1 |
| Nurses, PreK–12 details ↓ | No less than 24.00 FTE | No less than 20.95 FTE |
| Hours of Employment (Article IV) | ||
| Adjunct duty (grades 7–12) details ↓ | Maximum 15 hours a year, aggregated across sites; beyond 15, voluntary or paid at the contractual hourly rate | 18 hours, carried forward from its earlier proposal (“status quo from prior proposal”); also proposes deleting the Adjunct Duty Committee |
| Counselor work year Agreed — current counselor work year retained details ↓ | No 195-day counselor requirement | Withdraws its 195-day proposal; counselor work year “shall remain as currently exists” |
| Alternate MTSS schedule vote Matching 65% threshold details ↓ | 65% to implement, with annual reaffirmation | Withdraws its proposal to lower the threshold to 60%; keeps 65% |
| Elementary Instructional Day (EID) pilot | ||
| Required instructional minutes by subject New MOU p. 67 ↗ | No subject-area minimums; “Teachers have the discretion to determine the arrangement of content within the Instructional Day.” | Seeks to put required instructional minutes by subject in the contract for the first time: ELA at least 120 minutes daily; math at least 75 (K–2) or 90 (grades 3–6); MTSS block at least 30; designated ELD at least 25; PE 200 minutes every ten days |
| Site staff vote details ↓ | Yes: “no less than 65% of teachers voting in support,” with an annual reaffirming vote | No pilot-site staff vote requirement; sites selected by agreement of the parties |
| Classroom teacher prep details ↓ | Two 30-minute periods and one 45-minute period weekly (Article IV, H); the pilot MOU does not specify three 40-minute periods | Three 40-minute VAPA/PE prep periods weekly (120 minutes) |
| Dedicated classroom for Prep Providers and CLTs details ↓ | Required; “Cart-based instruction shall not be used in lieu of providing a dedicated classroom.” | Status quo — no dedicated-classroom guarantee added by the pilot MOU |
| Prep time for Prep Providers, CLTs, and itinerants details ↓ | At least 24 hours per year, in blocks of at least 30 minutes | At least 40 minutes weekly for itinerant VAPA/PE teachers |
| New credential to deliver prep details ↓ | No new credential required to deliver prep. Committee on Assignments qualification training at no cost to the teacher, with $80/HR if required after the normal instructional day. | Teachers “must agree to one of the identified” qualification pathways; existing teachers may qualify without a new credential; no $80 rate stated |
| Band/ details ↓ | Maintain current pullout programs and at least current FTE | Pullout during the VAPA Special and one non-prep-day block; no current-FTE floor stated |
| Special education and Education Specialists | ||
| Special Educator stipend details ↓ | $2,500 (2025–26); $3,500 (2026–27) | $1,500 retroactive to 2025–26; $3,000 annually beginning 2026–27; nurses not listed |
| Resource Specialist and Education Specialist caseload provisions details ↓ | Resource Specialists: 28; written volunteers above 28 receive Optional Period payment, up to 32. Interns and probationary employees cannot exceed 28. | Mild/Moderate: above 28 requires specialist and SELPA agreement; $15 per excess student per day. ESN: $15 per student per day above the applicable Section D table maximum; that sentence does not state the same agreement condition. |
| SDC overage pay details ↓ | $17 per day per student above the caseload maximum | Strikes the general overage payment paragraph; separate Education Specialist overage provisions remain |
| SLP caseload details ↓ | Individual cap 55; above 55 voluntary at $17 per excess student per day. Preschool-only cap 40; mixed caseloads use preschool weighting of 1.375. | Individual cap 65; above 65 voluntary at $15 per day, not per excess student. Preschool-only cap 40; no mixed-caseload preschool weighting stated. |
| Base IEP release days details ↓ | 3 per academic year | 2 |
| IEP meetings after hours details ↓ | $70/hour beyond one hour after school dismissal | $80/hour beyond an eight-hour workday |
| Mainstreamed students above the class maximum (TK–6) details ↓ | Up to three more at $17 per student per day; beyond three, para support plus continued overage pay | More than two above maximum triggers an administrator meeting to determine support need; no separate $15 mainstreaming-overage paragraph |
| Extra para for every __ students above the maximum (Highly Structured / details ↓ | 2 / 4 / 5 | 4 / 5 / 5 |
| Pay when required SLPA/ details ↓ | Eighth-period daily rate after each five consecutive full-day uncovered absences/vacancy | Provision struck |
| Compliance training details ↓ | Supportive training and resources; no counterpart to mandatory sessions | For persistent IEP noncompliance, mandatory PD during the workday, attended “without compensation”; supportive training also retained |
* MTA arithmetic: the District’s annual amounts ÷ 12. EO = employee only; E+1 = employee plus one. LCP = the lowest-cost employee-only CalPERS medical plan in the region applying to MCS.
Every entry, by article
76 comparison entries. Tap an article, then an entry, to see both proposals.
Article IX (Salary) and the Two-Year Deal6 entries
2026-27 ongoingDifferent proposals
8th period optionalDifferent proposals
Extended-day performing artsDifferent proposals
PD initiative discontinuanceDifferent proposals — bargaining versus consultation
MTA proposes bargaining over the terms of ending the PD initiative. The District proposes retaining the decision to end it after consultation with MTA. Its clause provides notice and meaningful input but does not expressly require negotiations over discontinuance or MTA’s agreement before the District acts.
2025-26 ongoingMatching 3% increase
Matching 3% increase; broader retroactive eligibility not restated by District.
2026-27 one-timeMatching terms — no one-time salary payment
Article X (Health and Welfare Benefits) and the Two-Year Deal8 entries
2026 contributions and catch-upAgreed — 2026 benefit year
MTA and the District are in agreement on the 2026 health and welfare benefit year. The dated proposal columns show the terms as written in those versions; their differences do not reflect a continuing disagreement for 2026.
2026 enrollment changesAgreed — 2026 benefit year
2027 contributionsDifferent proposals
Reference plan and contribution floorsDifferent proposals
Plan substitution protectionsDifferent proposals
Automatic health reopenerDifferent proposals
Married / domestic partnersDifferent proposals
Other benefit rightsCompare stated terms
Article IV (Hours of Employment) and the Elementary Instructional Day Pilot17 entries
Counselor work yearAgreed — current counselor work year retained
Site voteDifferent proposals
Pilot term and deadlinesDifferent proposals
Classroom teacher prepDifferent proposals
Prep for the itinerants themselvesDifferent proposals
Dedicated classroomDifferent proposals
Credential / qualificationDifferent proposals
Site leadership payDifferent proposals
Transfer and return rightsDifferent proposals
Class-size maximums in the pilotDifferent proposals
Music, grades 4-6Different proposals
Adjunct dutyDifferent proposals
Collaboration scheduleDifferent proposals
Other hours provisionsEarlier District proposals carried forward
Number of pilot sitesMatching two-site limit; site-vote difference
Pilot evaluation and discipline protectionsMatching terms
Alternate MTSS voteMatching terms
Matching 65% threshold; not a tentative agreement.
Article V (Leaves)4 entries
Proof of illness thresholdDifferent proposals
Field tripsDifferent proposals
Sick-leave donation capDifferent proposals
Wellness DayDifferent proposals
Article VI (Class Size)11 entries
Balancing deadlineAgreed — three-week balancing window
The District’s October 23 packet strikes its earlier four-week balancing request and keeps three-week balancing.
K-3 exception — capDifferent proposals
K-3 exception — circumstancesDifferent proposals
K-3 exception — notice and assignmentDifferent proposals
Prep Provider overageDifferent proposals
Co-teaching inclusion maximumsDifferent proposals
General class maximumsMatching terms
K-6 overage rateMatching $15 overage rate
Optional periods per departmentMatching terms
7–12 class overage paragraphMatching terms
Partnered classroomsMatching terms
Article VII (Staffing Ratios)8 entries
Supplemental / Concentration clauseDifferent proposals
Positions designated S/C-fundedDifferent proposals
Staffing count dateDifferent proposals
9-12 counselors and psychologistsDifferent proposals
College counselorsDifferent proposals
Continuation School counselorsDifferent proposals
Music and agriculture staffing floorsDifferent proposals
NursesDifferent proposals
Article XXV (Special Education)22 entries
Para training and lead stipendsAgreed
Special Educator stipendDifferent proposals
SDC caseload maximumsDifferent proposals
SDC caseload overage rateDifferent proposals
Education / Resource Specialist caseloadDifferent proposals
SLP caseloadDifferent proposals
SLPA supportDifferent proposals
IEP release daysDifferent proposals
IEP after-hours compensationDifferent proposals
Elementary IEP substitute coverageDifferent proposals
Mainstreaming above the maximumDifferent proposals
Inclusion equityDifferent proposals
Low-incidence workloadDifferent proposals
Paraprofessional overage triggersDifferent proposals
Support-staff absence payDifferent proposals
Compliance trainingDifferent proposals
SLP / Nurse / Inclusion Specialist placementDifferent proposals
Prep restoration after an emergencyDifferent proposals
Special educator prep and duty provisionsDifferent proposals
Beginning in 2026–27, Education Specialists receive prep time commensurate with teachers of record in their respective grade spans. The District designates that time to include, but not be limited to: student assessment; service-tracker entries; drafting compliant IEPs; student observations; consultation with general education teachers about students on and off caseload; conferences with staff and parents about caseload and non-caseload students; team teaching and collaboration to prepare for it in general education classrooms; follow-up on special education referrals and staff recommendations or discussions about general education supports; reviewing records and student files; developing supports and adjusting curriculum for student access; progress reporting and progress on goals; and modifying curriculum and designing support lessons, activities, and materials for general education settings serving students on caseload. At the secondary level, this also includes work with counselors on graduation requirements and transition-plan components.
The proposal states that IEP completion “should occur within the professional workday,” including the described prep time and other special education duties outside instructional time but within the eight-hour professional workday.District PDF p. 54, 60–61
Preschool special education prepDifferent proposals
Classroom support plansMatching terms
JSEC structure and release timeMatching core structure; scope wording differs
Correction, October 30, 2026: an earlier version of this comparison said the District struck the no-bargaining/agreement/joint-report restriction. That was wrong; the restriction survives. The strike removes the old report-back sentence and the proposed 2.5% stipend, which MTA also strikes. The downloadable October 30 PDF still contains the earlier statement.
About this comparison
Status labels. Agreed identifies terms on which MTA and the District are in agreement. Matching terms identifies the particular terms that match in the proposal records. Different proposals identifies a stated difference, including an MTA proposal compared with the District’s status quo position. Each entry describes the terms being compared; the labels do not identify signed tentative agreements. The labels and the Key highlights table are website reading aids and do not appear in the PDF.
Sources and “Status quo.” This comparison uses MTA’s July 31 proposal set and the District’s October 23 packet, together with earlier District language carried forward and current status updates. Where a cell says “Status quo,” it describes the reported position to retain existing terms. Earlier proposal language is identified by its own date.
From the PDF. This MTA summary presents proposed terms; it does not identify signed tentative agreements. The underlying proposals control. “Not restated” means the October 23 packet does not reproduce the term; it does not mean withdrawn, rejected, or agreed. Some District terms incorporate earlier proposals. PDF references use the 93-page District packet’s file order, rather than its repeated printed page numbers. Matching language does not establish a signed tentative agreement.
Drafting clarification. The health reopener concerns District contributions in Article X (Health and Welfare Benefits), Section F. The Two-Year Deal’s reference to Section E needs correction. The $2,500/$3,500 stipend sequence follows the Two-Year Deal, rather than the unconformed stipend sentence in Article XXV (Special Education).
Sources. MTA: July 31, 2026 Two-Year Deal; Articles IV (Hours of Employment), V (Leaves), VI (Class Size), VII (Staffing Ratios), IX (Salary), and XXV (Special Education); Elementary Instructional Day Prep Pilot MOU; and April 6, 2026 Article X (Health and Welfare Benefits), as modified by the Two-Year Deal. District: October 23, 2026 MCS Counter Proposal Packet, 7:00 p.m., 93 PDF pages. Page links in the District column open the District packet at that page.
MTA Side-by-Side Comparison — October 30, 2026
Download MTA’s October 30 comparison as a printable PDF. Website status labels and the Key highlights table are additional reading aids and do not appear in that PDF. The underlying proposal documents control.
NEW: Salary, Benefits, and Contract Articles
Status: open. MCS counter-proposal exchanged October 23, 2026. No agreement has been reached.
MCS Counter-Proposal — October 23, 2026, 7:00 p.m.
Updated salary and health and welfare contributions are only half the picture. Many important details are missing from the District’s email. Click the button below to read the full proposal for yourself.
93 pages. Beyond salary and health and welfare, the packet includes District proposals on Article IV (Hours of Employment), Article V (Leaves), Article VI (Class Size), Article VII (Staffing Ratios), Article XXV (Special Education), and an updated Elementary Instructional Day pilot MOU with sample schedules for Franklin, Fairview, and El Vista.
Elementary Instructional Day Pilot
Status: open. Proposals exchanged July 31, 2026. No agreement has been reached.
NEW: Update, October 23, 2026: MCS sent an updated pilot MOU and sample schedules as part of its October 23 counter-proposal packet (pages 3 and 66-93). The July 31 documents and the comparison table below reflect the earlier versions. Click here to read the updated MOU (PDF, starts at page 66)
MCS has proposed a pilot of an alternate elementary instructional day schedule at up to two elementary sites for the 2026-2027 school year, with planning in fall 2026 and implementation in spring 2027. MTA has responded with counter proposals. The two documents differ substantially on how sites are selected, whether members vote, what is paid, and how much of the instructional day is fixed in writing.
MCS Counter-Proposal — July 31, 2026, 8:30 a.m.
The District’s counter-proposal. 28 pages: six pages of proposed MOU terms, followed by sample bell schedules for Franklin, Fairview, and El Vista. Sets minimum daily instructional minutes, a 40-minute “Specials” block model taught by itinerant VAPA and PE teachers, and credentialing pathways for prep providers and CLTs.
Read the MCS counter-proposal (PDF, 28 pages, 1.2 MB)
MTA Proposal — July 31, 2026, 10:30 a.m.
MTA’s proposal, sent later the same day. Three pages. Conditions the pilot on a site vote of at least 65% of teachers voting in support, seeks to maintain current music programs, protects prep providers and CLTs from having to obtain a new credential, and guarantees each prep provider and CLT a dedicated classroom.
Read this one carefully. Several provisions are struck through. Struck text has been withdrawn by MTA and is not part of the proposal, including the $2,500 per semester stipend, the November continue-or-terminate vote, and the two-thirds threshold to continue the pilot. What is not struck through is what MTA is asking for.
Read the MTA proposal (PDF, 3 pages)
Historical comparison — July 31, 2026 elementary pilot proposals
Prepared by MTA staff as a reading aid. The documents themselves control. Where a cell reads Not addressed, that document is silent on the point — it does not mean that party opposes it. For the current comparison, which includes the District’s October 23 pilot MOU, see Side by Side: What’s Still Open above.
| Issue | MTA proposal (10:30 a.m.) | MCS counter-proposal (8:30 a.m.) |
|---|---|---|
| Which sites | Up to two sites, “as agreed upon by the parties based on site voting.” No sites named. | Up to two sites agreed upon by the parties. The named-site list is struck. The attached Franklin, Fairview, and El Vista schedules are examples, not a surviving restriction to those three sites. |
| Site vote to begin | “The threshold to implement the pilot schedule shall be no less than 65% of teachers voting in support.” Vote no later than the second week of November. | Not addressed. |
| Annual re-vote | Site “must hold a vote annually” no later than the end of the first week in May. Below 65%, the site “will revert to the schedule that was in use prior.” | Not addressed. |
| Site Leadership Pay | Site leadership meetings beyond the scheduled hour paid at $80/HR. | Not addressed. |
| Credentialing | “CLTs and Prep Providers shall not be required to obtain a new credential to deliver prep.” | Participating teachers must agree to an identified qualification pathway. Current teachers may qualify without obtaining a new credential through the described process. Committee on Assignments qualification is at no cost to the teacher. No corresponding $80 after-hours training rate is stated. |
| Order of subjects in the day | “Teachers have the discretion to determine the arrangement of content within the Instructional Day.” | “Teachers have the discretion to determine the arrangement of content within the Instructional Blocks, consistent with the parameters, including where ELD is placed.” |
| Minimum daily minutes fixed in the MOU | Not addressed. MTA’s proposal leaves the arrangement of content to the teacher. | ELA minimum 120 minutes; math minimum 75 minutes (K-2) and 90 minutes (grades 3-6); MTSS minimum 30 minutes; designated ELD minimum 25 minutes; PE 200 minutes every ten days. |
| Prep provider and CLT prep time | “a minimum of 24 hours of prep per year, in no less than 30-minute blocks.” | Itinerant (VAPA/PE) teachers “will have a minimum of 40 minutes of prep time per week.” |
| Dedicated classroom | Each prep provider and CLT “shall be provided with a dedicated, on-site instructional classroom.” “Cart-based instruction shall not be used in lieu of providing a dedicated classroom.” | Not addressed. |
| Band and orchestra | “At minimum, maintain current 4th-6th Band and Orchestra pull out programs. FTE shall be no less than current staffing levels.” | Grades 4-6 students who elect string orchestra or band “may be pulled out during the VAPA Special,” plus one non-prep day in the same block, coordinated so it does not interrupt Tier I core instruction. |
| Changing the schedule mid-pilot | Not addressed. | Site administration, in consultation with the certificated site leadership team, “is authorized to modify” the schedule with five (5) work day notice. Not authorized to extend work hours. |
| End date | Ends May 30, 2027, unless the parties agree in writing to extend. | Ends May 30, 2027, unless the parties agree in writing to extend. |
How to read these documents
- Check the footer of every page. It names the party that wrote the document and the date and time it was exchanged. Two documents dated the same day are not the same document.
- Silence in one document does not, by itself, establish acceptance, rejection, withdrawal, or current bargaining status. Some provisions incorporate earlier proposals.
- Struck text is shown as deleted in that version; read the surviving and replacement language together and check later proposals for current terms.
Questions
Contact your site representative or the MTA office. If you believe a document on this page is incomplete or mislabeled, tell us and we will correct it.
